MBTI: Personal Growth, Leadership and Teamwork

Self-awareness is definitely a journey and not a destination. My journey began a few years back when I started to really seek out answers to burning questions about my true purpose in life and how I can become a better leader. I know I’m not alone so let me share one tool that opened my eyes and gave me a framework for getting to know more about myself and others around me.

There are lots of personality questionnaires out there that can provide you with in-depth knowledge about all aspects of the “Self.” The most impactful tool for me was the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) which is based on research by Swiss psychiatrist Carl Jung and adapted into an instrument by the mother-daughter team, Isabel Myers and Katherine Briggs. After receiving my results and having them verified and interpreted by a certified practitioner, it opened my eyes to a whole new path towards personal growth, leadership and teamwork.

crashcourse

Graphic courtesy of http://www.subbable.com/crashcourse (Crash Course Psychology #22)

According to the developers from the Myers & Briggs Foundation, knowledge about your MBTI Personality Type helps you:

  • Better understand yourself and the pros and cons of your reactions
  • Understand others recognizing differences as useful and broadening, rather than annoying and restrictive
  • Gain perspective helping you appreciate the legitimacy of other points of view. No perspective is always right or always wrong.

Watch this quick 2 minute video to give you an overview of the test.

It’s important to note that MBTI instruments DO NOT measure your skills or abilities in any area. Rather, it is a tool to help you become aware of various aspects of your personality. Everyone can and does use each of the parts of their personality some of the time but prefers one style over another. Just as most people have a natural preference for using one hand rather than the other; no preference in a pair is better or more desirable than its opposite. For example, showing preference for introvert tendencies has just as desirable leadership traits as that of an extrovert. What I liked most in my experience was that I always had the freedom to choose whether the results were a true reflection of my personality; my best-fit if you will. I didn’t feel categorized or “put in a box” and left there.

There are several levels of the report for determining your personality preference and I’ve provided some descriptions below to demonstrate how much information each level delivers. Be aware! There are plenty of so-called “free assessments” on the internet but to truly get the most out of the experience, it’s always best to seek a certified practitioner to not only guarantee an authentic MBTI questionnaire but also interpret the report for the best results.

Step I Profile (3 page report)
Gives a snapshot of your personality type and shows you an index of your preference clarity.

Step I Interpretive Assessment (6 page report)
Gives an in-depth description of your personality type, decision-making processes and your preference clarity index.

Step II Profile Assessment (5 page report)
Gives your Step I Profile Assessment results and your expression of five facets related to each of the four preference pairs. Within each pair, you will see how consistently your choose one facet pole over the other.

Step II Interpretive Assessment (17 page report)
Gives the most in-depth comprehensive descriptions including your Step I Interpretive report. The results show tips and techniques for how to use your type most effectively for managing change, communication, decision-making, and managing conflict.

If you think you’re ready to pursue your own journey towards growth, determine where your leadership skills could use some improving or simply want to build stronger relationships, I can help.

MBTI Certified Logo (PMS)_hires

Select an assessment and let’s begin your journey to personal success together. I’ll contact you with further direction and help you along the way.

The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances: if there is any reaction, both are transformed.

– Carl Jung

About The Chat Room Radio Show

Real People. Inspirational Journeys. The Chat Room is an online radio show that inspires, enlightens and entertains the listeners through extraordinary stories of extraordinary people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

